Activites with Toddlers in Southern California – LA Zoo

   Well it is another beautiful sunny weekend in California.  My wife and I were set to take the kids to the LA Zoo.  It was not too hot and it was a short drive.  The La Zoo is locate at Griffith Park in Los Angeles and parking is always free. Tickets to the zoo are $10 for adults (13 and up) and $5 for kids (2 to 12).  Kids under 2 are free.  After much thinking my wife and I decided to get a year pass for the family for only $75.  This pass can be used to get into other participating  zoos throughout California and the US at a discounted price.  There is a list of around 140 zoos and aquariums that offer either discounted admissions or free admissions with the LA Zoo pass.

The LA Zoo has many exhibits to enjoy.  The monkeys were quite active today as were the giraffes.  There is even a petting zoo for the little kids to enjoy.  It was funny to watch my 3 1/2 year old son scared to get close to any off the animals in the petting zoo but my 21 month year old daughter who seems to have no fear when she gets around the animals.   The zoo has many different animals to see.  My son enjoyed the zoo more than my daughter.  The zoo has an assortment of animals from zebras to apes and gorillas to camels and even a spider exhibit. 

The zoo is a fun place for the kids to see some cool animals but let me give one warning.  Be prepared to do some walking and if you have kids, I would recommend a stroller for them.  My daughter spent a lot of time in the stroller and my son spent a little time in it as well.  There is a guided tram for an additional price that will take you around the zoo and make stops at various exhibits.  The LA Zoo is great day adventure for the kids!

LA Zoo FlamingoosLA Zoo - CamelLA Zoo - ElephantLA Zoo - Zebras

2 thoughts on “Activites with Toddlers in Southern California – LA Zoo

Leave a Reply

