Book Review – Dead Heat by Joel C. Rosenberg

Last week, I received my  book that I have been waiting for since Christmas. I knew it was not schedule to come out until March. I would like to thank the folks at Amazon for a quick delivery.  As soon as I received my book, I was able to finish it in a couple of days.  Any book that I enjoy reading, I usually take a couple of days to read it.  Ever since I have had kids, I really only have time to read children books.  I have always enjoyed books but lately I have very little time to read them.

Dead Heat is the final chapter in a five part series by Joel Rosenberg.   The name of the five books are The Last Jihad, The Last Days, The Ezekiel Option, The Copper Scroll, and Dead Heat.  To be honest, I have never read the first two books.  He has also written a non-fiction book, Epicenter – Why the current rumblings in the Middle East will change your future.  Joel Rosenberg is also the CEO and president of the Joshua Fund.  It is amazing what God is doing through this organization in the Middle East.

This series is a fictional political series based in the not too distant future.  His storyline deals with end time events based on biblical prophecy.  This series is a very fast pace and easy to read with a summary of characters in the front section of the book.  I am sad to see the series end but all good things come to an end. I think I enjoyed book 3 – The Ezekiel Option, best.  I did enjoy Dead Heat but it was far different than I had expected. I enjoyed this book better than the Copper Scroll.  I would give Dead Heat a three out of four stars, it was a great read but it was not as good as the Ezekiel Option.  It was worth the buy and like his other books it jumps straight into the action.  I also like his short chapters.   To be honest I will not spoil anything in this paragraph but If you do not want to know anything about the book please do not continue reading my blog below.

************************SPOILER ALERT! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!****************************************

Jon and Erin Bennett are doing work at a refugee camp in Jordan.  I have enjoyed the fact that Jon and Erin had high profiled careers and have given up everything they had to serve others.  They have their own issues while the rest of the world is either at war or brewing with rumors of war.  The United States is attacked by terrorists and thus this takes the United States out of the picture for what is shaping up for end time events.  The United States is struggling to figure out who attacked them and who they need to retaliate against. Israel is building the Third Temple and a new dictator is developing in Iraq.  North Korea is gearing up to regain South Korea by force and China is looking to attack Taiwan.  The issues that the United States federal government faces plays out very well. There was a surprise character who helped with the planning of the attacks and I thought that this characters involvement was a little bit cheesy.  I saw it coming a mile away but I really did not like the reason for their involvement.  The ending to the book was very good.  I also like how the characters in the book share their faith with others but not all of the come to Christ.  Many people who live during the end times will see many acts of God’s wrath but will still not repent.  It would amaze me that if anyone would live through this time would not repent but Revelation 16:10-11 give a good point to this fact.

   10The fifth angel poured out his bowl on the throne of the beast, and his kingdom was plunged into darkness. Men gnawed their tongues in agony 11and cursed the God of heaven because of their pains and their sores, but they refused to repent of what they had done.

Rev 16:10-11

Now I have read through Romans and realize that a person left to themselves will never repent but only with the Holy Spirit will a person ever repent. 

   5Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. 6The mind of sinful man[e] is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace; 7the sinful mind[f] is hostile to God. It does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. 8Those controlled by the sinful nature cannot please God.

Romans 8:5-8

if you read further in Romans, Paul leaves us with this.

9That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved. 11As the Scripture says, “Anyone who trusts in him will never be put to shame.”[e] 12For there is no difference between Jew and Gentile—the same Lord is Lord of all and richly blesses all who call on him, 13for, “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

Romans 10:9-13

Romans is an awesome book to study but make plans to read it slowly and ask God for the wisdom to understand it.

Leave a Reply

