Paul Pierce – “I don’t think Kobe is the best player. I’m the best player.”

“Finals MVP  Paul Pierce who recently spent three days at a ball camp in Madrid, is making, ahem, news about what he said to a Spanish reporter. The money translation, via  RedsArmy: “Q: Is Kobe really the best player in the world? Pierce: I don’t think Kobe is the best player. I’m the best player. There’s a line that separates having confidence and being conceited. I don’t cross that line but I have a lot of confidence in myself.”

  I think one of the reasons Paul Pierce has a right to make this statement is due to the fact that his team under his leadership earned an NBA Championship against Kobe Bryant’s Lakers.

The Boston Celtics not only earned an NBA Championship against the Los Angeles Lakers but they clobbered them in the NBA Finals.  Paul Pierce showed his leadership during this series and with his championship, I think he is the best player in the NBA.

I do not think that any of the players that are in the league currently are at the caliber of Dr. J,  Magic, Bird, or MJ.  I think the closest player to their caliber in regards to the impact on the game is Shaq.

Kobe Bryant is a great one on one player but basketball is a team sport.  Kobe does not know how to make his teammates better and thus, he will never lead a team to an NBA Championship under his leadership.  The only reason Kobe has three championships is because of Shaq.    Kobe reminds me of Scottie Pippen.  Scottie never won a championship without MJ.  HMMMMMMMMMMM.

6 thoughts on “Paul Pierce – “I don’t think Kobe is the best player. I’m the best player.”

  1. Pierce couldnt win anything before allen and kg came, and kobe took the lakers to playoffs several times, Pierce has NOTHING he barely counts for a top ten player, best in the world?? he must hve smoked something wrong

  2. Jesus Christ. I just saw this quote on TNT while watching the Bulls play the Celtics in Game 3 of the 2009 Playoffs. Wow. I’m from LA like Paul Pierce and have always loved and respected his game, but WOW Paul. There is absolutely NO WAY that he is better than Kobe. The Celtics beat the Lakers in the finals, true, but I don’t think Paul is in the same discussion as Kobe, Lebron, and D-Wade. He’s close…but not in the same conversation. Kobe is the closest thing to MJ that this league has seen, and he’s about to prove it come June 2009. And by the way, that comment about “Kobe reminding” him of Scottie Pippen… what the hell? Eeeeuuuuwww… that’s gross! Do you know nothing about basketball? Ouch!

  3. nope. Paul is just jelous cuz he only got one ring. He’s saying dat to make kobe mad.Paul is just like a bench warmer. He is a flopper dats all. Kobe is gifted to play balland Paul….He’s waak

Leave a Reply

