Surprise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My wife wanted to take a vacation, so she decided to spend about three weeks at my Mom’s house in Washington state.  She was planning to drive up from California to Washington with the kids earlier in August.  I drove up with her that weekend and I flew back the following Monday to go back to work.    The plan was that I would fly back up the Wednesday night prior to Labor Day and we would drive home that weekend.

My brother planted the  idea about coming back earlier to spend some extra time in Washington.  My workload was extremely light at my job and so I secretly planned to come to Washington five days earlier than planned.  My brother was the only one who knew of my plan, since he was going to pick me up from the airport.  My brother will often times go into work over the weekend, so he could say he had to go to work to finish a project. I wanted desperately to keep this a surprise from my wife.  I knew I need an excuse to ignore all phone calls for two hours during my flight, so I told my wife I was going to see Clone Wars that Saturday.  On a side note,  I still haven’t seen Clone Wars yet.

After arriving in Washington, I was not sure how I was going to surprise my wife.  My brother called my wife and mom to see what the plan was for dinner that night.  My wife needed to go to Target to pick up some diapers for our daughter prior to dinner.  My brother and I arrived at Target before my wife.  I spent a few minutes wandering the back aisle of the store.  I wanted to find the right opportunity to surprise my wife.  I was concerned that my bright Lithuania Basketball shirt would give me away but I made every effort to keep out of my wife’s and kids’ line of sight in the store.  When they finally arrived I saw both my mom and sister at the front of the store. (My sister and niece were visiting from Eastern Washington that weekend as well.)

It took them awhile to reach the back of the store but I knew eventually my kids would want to check out the toy section.  If the kids went to the toy section then my wife would be there as well.  It is funny as I was standing in one of the aisle, I saw my sister and niece pass by and they did not even notice me.  My mom also walked by and she did not notice me.  This was quite fun but the ultimate question would someone notice me first or would I totally surprise my wife?

As I heard my wife and kids approach ( both my kids are loud), I took precautions to hide between the aisle to conceal my whereabouts.  I waited patiently for the right opportunity and it came.  My wife went to take a look at some toys in a different aisle without the kids.  The rest of my family were scoping out the toy cars.  (My kids can spend hours looking at toy cars. )  With my wife’s back to me, I quickly swooped in behind her.  I think at that moment my mom and sister noticed me but my brother kept them quiet, and they were a little shocked and surprised.  I was behind my wife and then I tapped her on her shoulder.  The shock and surprise on her face was worth it all.  It had only been about two weeks but I truly missed my wife and i was very happy to hold my wife in my arms again, even in a Target store.  My kids were like there is dadda and then the went back to checking out the toys.

My wife, mom and sister were very happy to see me.  I had not seen my sister and niece for over two years so it was a great weekend to get together.  This was a great vacation and i am so happy that i went up early to spend some extra time in Washington with my family.  I even got some time to play basketball on the X-Box 360 with my brother.

Leave a Reply

