Kayaking In Lithuania; Day One

IMG_2837 This summer I had the opportunity to spend three days kayaking through various lakes and rivers in the Aukštaitija National Park in Lithuania.  This was my first time going kayaking and I was not too sure about this adventure.  We were kayaking with family and friends which made it easier.  Our friends have been kayaking in this area for about 10 years and knew all the good spots to see and what areas were good  to set up a camp site for the night.

Day one was a nervous one for me.  I was terrified to go in the kayak since I have never been on a lake in a kayak.    I had once been on a lake with a houseboat and a friends power boat but never a boat that required someone to use oars. I was even afraid to put my oar in the water.  I don’t know what I was afraid about since I did have life preserver jacket on. 

The weather was perfect to go out on the lake.  If you know anything about Lithuania, you know it rains in Lithuania. It was very fortunate that it was not raining this day.  So as we set out on our journey, I learned that we were going to be kayaking across multiple lakes and a couple of  rivers for about four hours.  Say what?????  Part of our group was unable to make it until later that evening and I was informed that they were going to have someone drive them to  the campground we were going to. So let me understand, I could either be confined to a two man kayak for four hours or I could have had someone drive me to the campground.  I would have gone with the second option.  I was not able to choose the second option. 

Half ways through our adventure, I was told we were going across the deepest lake in Lithuania, Lake Tauragnas .  I started to think this would be a bad place to tip over the kayak, so I better start oaring harder.  We finally made it to our destination for the day.  The lakes we traveled across were beautiful and it was well worth the four hour kayaking adventure.

 

IMG_2877IMG_2879

Once we made it to  our destination, we set up for camp for that evening.   Since it does not get dark until about 11 pm, there was plenty of daylight left to swim in the lake.  We cooked Šašlykai (kebabs) over the fire and enjoyed a good meal.  We were up late and had fun that evening.

Leave a Reply

